Gin Cassis Soda

Gin Cassis Soda // Don The Rocks

I have to admit that I’m a bit embarrassed to have gone on such a lengthy hiatus, especially considering the fact that Don The Rocks is still relatively new.

It’s unnecessary to go into the minutiae, but I’ve been going through some stuff at home. Aside from just being generally quite busy, my family lost a dear friend about a week ago, which has left me with such an intense exhaustion that it’s been difficult just to make it through my workdays.

As it seems, I am beginning to turn the corner and am starting to feel like myself again. With a little more energy in my tank, I bring to you an aromatic and fruity gin cocktail ideal for welcoming the long-awaited and much anticipated spring season.

Gin Cassis Soda
2 oz. London dry gin
2 oz. seltzer or club soda
1 oz. creme de cassis
1 oz. sauvignon blanc
Stemless wine glass
Ice

Drop the ice in the bottom of the wine glass. Combine the gin, club soda, creme de cassis, and wine in a shaker. Shake lightly and strain over the ice.

There’s no garnish necessary to this cocktail, but sometimes I like to muddle a few blueberries or blackberries at the bottom of the glass. You can also garnish with a strawberry.

Happy spring! Also, my good friend Donald F. Draper will be returning to the small screen for season seven on Sunday, April 13. We’ll have to do something special to welcome him back into our homes.

Sip Smart,
Dane

A variation of this cocktail was also featured on Dish + Drink earlier this week.

Leave a comment